, 2014

Stingrays splash to second in championship meet

by Lisa Hinton-Valdrighi

The Indian Creek Yacht and Country Club (ICYCC) Stingrays swim team went 2-2 for the season and finished second at last week's Middle Peninsula Swim League championships in Tappahannock.

+ A | - A

The Indian Creek Yacht and Country Club swim team (above) finished second in last week's championship meet.

The Urbanna Barracudas won the league championship with a score of 275 at the final five-team meet last Wednesday. The ICYCC Stingrays were second with 220, the West Point Dolphins were third with 191, the Rappahannock River Rats of Tappahannock fourth with 152 and the Deltaville Sharks fifth with 138.

The Stingrays beat West Point, 323-296, in the final regular season meet on July 22. Tappahannock got by ICYCC, 324-284, on July 18 and Urbanna defeated the Stingrays, 339-290, on July 16. ICYCC opened the season with a win over Deltaville, 338-189, on June 26.

"I believe this was the largest team in ICYCC history," said coach Liz Siegler. "This season was also the strongest season for our league. The meets were all close in score. And we can't wait for the 2014 season."

The team was coached by Seigler and Kelly Espy and assisted by Nadia Moss and Sarah Schindler.

The Stingrays held their end-of-the-season party at ICYCC July 30.

Members of the ICYCC team included Evie Allen, Nathalie Biddlecomb, Branden Benza, Kalin Benza, Garic Boden, Spencer Cammarata, Robert Cunningham, Eric DeMario, Virginia DeMario, Oceana Diaz, River Diaz, Brooke Elbourn, Tabitha Foulkes, Michael Foulkes and Allison Foulkes.

Also, Ashtyn Franklin, Ellie Franklin, Andrew Fulmer, Victoria Geier, Helen Geier, Madison Giese, Hanna Harding, Erik Harding, Alexsia Hendricks, Latney Hodges, Mary Clare Hodges, Hunter Knull, Chase Knull, Jackson Latell, Tristan McDaniels, Lucy McDaniels, Gigi Mataya, Nash McManus and Emma McManus.

Also, Marissa Morales, Nadia Moss, Teagan Mullins, Brady Mullins, Kate Nelson, Abby Nelson, Zoe Nonnemacker, Gracie Oren, Kayla Oren, Kaya Penrod, Lilly Penrod, Eli Pittman, Jarett Platsis, Mears Pollard, Sarah Wells Pollard, Ap Pollard, Ella Posey, Hannah Richardson and John Richardson.

Also, Maddie Ritter, Olivia Saunders, Creston Saunders, Alya Saunders, Sarah Schindler, Weston Schomer, Colie Schomer, Ashley Grace Scioscia, Colby Scioscia, Jameson Scott, Ewan Scott, Hallie Shackleford, Anne Shackleford, Graham Shivers and Avery Shivers.

Also, Drew Smith, Blake Smith, Blair Smith, Harper Stanley, Tanner Steensma, Amanda Steensma, Millie Tompkins, Harrison Tompkins, Lewis Tompkins, Rachel Valdrighi, Brendan Walker, Mason Walker, Katarina Zeiler and DJ Zeiler.

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement