, 2015

Town voters return
to the polls Tuesday

by Audrey Thomasson

LANCASTER—Voters in the county’s three incorporated towns will visit the polls Tuesday, May 6, to elect council members in Kilmarnock, Irvington and White Stone. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

+ A | - A

Voter registrar Susan Jett reminds voters they may have the option of voting for more than one candidate.

“Normally, voters check one box,” Jett said. “But in town elections, they will be voting for up to three people.”

However, they may choose to vote for fewer candidates.

In Kilmarnock, polling takes place at the Kilmarnock firehouse, 71 School Street.

Two candidates are vying for mayor. Incumbent Raymond Booth is challenged by Mae Umphlett.

Five candidates competing for three council seats include Christopher Allen, Shawn Donahue, James Evans Sr., Emerson Gravatt and Curtis Smith.

In Irvington, polling will take place in the Town Hall, 235 Steamboat Road.

While four names are on the ballot for three council seats in the regular election, William Evans earlier withdrew his candidacy due to health reasons, leaving the race uncontested. The remaining three candidates are Jerry Latell, Michael Merrill and Wayne Nunnally.

Three candidates are competing in Irvington’s special election to fill two years remaining in the term vacated by Ed Sulick, who resigned for health reasons. They are William “Jim” Haynie III, Michelle M. Lybarger and Frances E. Westbrook.

In White Stone, polling will take place in the Town Hall, 433 Rappahannock Drive.

Randy Reeves is unopposed for mayor. Only two candidates have declared for the three seats on council to be filled. They are incumbents Irving Brittingham and Joe Sliakis.

The third seat can be won with write-in votes, however, the individual with the most write-ins does not have to accept the position, said Jett. Should no candidate receive write-in votes, council may appoint someone to the post. The Lancaster County Circuit Court judge will then decide when an election will be held to fill the seat, which would most likely be during the November elections, she said.

All positions are four-year terms, except in Irvington’s special election.

NOTE: Meet the White Stone candidates in this week’s printed or electronic versions. If you are not a subscriber, this is a good time to sign up at 435-1701 or RRecord.com.

Citizens must be registered to vote and reside within town limits to vote in these elections. Check your voter registration cards, or call the registrar’s office at 462-5277 to confirm eligibility.

Absentee ballots are due by 5 p.m. Saturday, May 3, at the registrar’s office in the Lancaster County Administration Building, 8311 Mary Ball Road, Lancaster. The office will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday.

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement