YPRCC elects new officers and announces awards

At its annual meeting in Lancaster the Yankee Point Racing and Cruising Club (YPRCC) elected long-time member Warren Ryan as commodore for the coming year.

Ryan noted that he had served as commodore some years ago before the club had built its own facility and that he was looking forward to serving again.

“It makes a big difference having your own building,” he said.

Serving with Ryan will be vice commodore Mitch Bober, fleet captain Anker Madsen, treasurer Brent Sparks, secretary Sara Ford, membership chairman Barbara Pulling and trustees Win Schwab, Joel Dugan, Ethel Gibbs and Eddy Whichard.

Ryan noted that the rear commodore position is still open and asked members to consider volunteering for it. He promised that the person filling it would not have to wash dishes.

“It’s more of a management position,” said Ryan.

The 2017 Commodore Award went to outgoing rear commodore Nancy Hamm.