Sunday, June 16, 2024
71.3 F

Cunningham’s acrylic wins ‘Best in Show’

57th Labor Day Show will continue through Saturday

From left are judge Emma Lou Martin and Best in Show winner Patty Cunningham.

The 57th annual Labor Day Show exhibit will continue through Saturday, September 8, at the RAL Art Center, 19 North Main Street, Kilmarnock. This show features paintings, photographs, sculpture, stained glass, clay, fiber and jewelry.

A First Friday Reception is scheduled from 5 to 7 p.m. September 7, said chairman Patty Richards. The public is invited to view the award-winning art and meet some of the artists.

An awards ceremony was held for participating artists on Friday, August 31. Ron Mihills served as master of ceremonies. President Harold Burnley conducted a visual presentation of the winners. Emma Lou Martin of Richmond judged the 120-piece show.

Best in Show was awarded to “Up the Creek at Tangier Island” by Patty Cunningham. This perfectly executed acrylic had it all…perfect perspective, great values, superb color mixes and an odd number of subjects interestingly arranged, said Martin.

Five Memorial Awards were given in honor of past artists and a past executive board member.

The Sharon Mundy Memorial Award for best use of media went to Wende Szyperski for her oil painting “Plucky Patrol.”

The Don Kennedy Memorial Award for most creative use of color went to Mary Ellis for her mixed media “Turkey Hunter.”

The Jane Stouffer Memorial Award for traditional work went to Elizabeth Lee for her oil painting “Simple Pleasures II.”

The Anne Hayes Memorial Award for excellence overall went to Ron Taylor for his wood/metal “Out on a Limb.”

The James Hazel Memorial Award for excellence in watercolor went to Bob Haynes for his watercolor “Reflection.”

Blue-ribbon winners were:

• Anne Cotter, acrylic, “Jeopardy.”

• Barbara Brecher, silk, wool felted, “Color Pop.”

• Richards, acrylic, untitled.

• Maggie Gilman, infrared photograph, “Girl with the Flower Tattoo.”

• Sarah Soderlund, acrylic, “Drawn and Quartered.”

Red-ribbon winners were:

• Gail Weyant, stoneware, “Blue Lady.”

• Jan Dobrowolski, jewelry, “FlimFlam Man.”

• Barney Harris, stained glass, “Sunset Flight.”

• Carol Sennot, sculpture, “Hippocampus.”

• Cheryl Mihills, fiber, “Glow.”

Yellow-ribbon winners were:

• Ed Ramsey, clay, “School of Fish.”

• Barbara Touchette, photo collage, “Cubic I.”

• David Zuck, oil, “Joys of Water & Light.”

• Herb Aman, photograph, “Daddy’s Girl.”

• Brenda Sylvia, wood, wire, glass, “Snapping Turtle.”

White-ribbon winners were:

• Mel Neale, pastel, “Somewhere Else.”

• Sharon Sylvia, photograph, “Eyes of Gold.”

• Marianne Miller, photograph, untitled.

• Jacquie Colligan, acrylic, “Embers.”

• CarolAnne Taylor, photograph, “Sunset in the City.”

• Barbara Kershner, watercolor, “Balancing Act.”

• Buzz Burhenn, pastel, “Smoky Morning Bethlehem Steel.”

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

clear sky
71.3 ° F
73.1 °
67.7 °
88 %
0 %
81 °
83 °
83 °
82 °
81 °