White Stone Town Council revives planning commission

Lisa Hinton-Valdrighi

by Lisa Hinton-Valdrighi

WHITE STONE—The White Stone Town Council on Thursday, February 3, appointed five members to the planning commission and Mayor Randy Reeves immediately assigned the commission a task.

Council voted unanimously, 6-0, to appoint Sterling Caudle, Kathy Treakle Goodwin, David Jones, councilman Ran Reeves and Mayor Reeves to the commission. Ran Reeves made the motion, which was seconded by James Smith. Reeves, Smith, Irving Brittingham, Jamilah Sawyer and William Hubbard voted in favor. Council members Kathryn “Scotty” Roop and AnnGardner Eubank were absent.

Mayor Reeves said the commission’s first order of business should be amending the town’s mixed use ordnance to allow for apartments on the second story of business buildings in the commercial area.

According to town manager Pat Frere, the business district revitalization project includes upper level housing development. However, the town’s ordinance needs to be amended….[to-view-more]