Northumberland supervisors elect new leadership for 2020

From left are Northumberland County Board of Supervisors vice chairman James M. Long and chairman Thomas H. Tomlin.

by Megan Schiffres

HEATHSVILLE—District 4 supervisor Thomas H. Tomlin was elected chairman of the Northumberland County Board of Supervisors by a 3-2 vote during the board’s first meeting of the new year on January 9.

The board also voted (3-2) to elect District 3 supervisor James M. Long vice chairman.

District 1 supervisor James W. Brann, Long and Tomlin voted in favor of electing Tomlin and Long. District 2 supervisor Richard F. Haynie and District 5 supervisor Ronald L. Jett voted against the motion.

Tomlin and Long replace Jett and Haynie as chairman and vice chairman, respectively.

I hope we can work together and accomplish our goals on behalf of the county and our citizens,” said Long.


In his first act as chairman, Tomlin made a motion to approve the establishment of the Northumberland County Broadband Authority. The authority was proposed…

There’s more to this story,
and many more news articles, photos and ads available only in our online e-Edition or in the printed version. Become a subscriber today!
• To access or subscribe to the e-Edition, go -   HERE
• To subscribe to the printed version, go -   HERE
• To buy the printed version at a newsstand, -   HERE are our locations.

For assistance, please call us at 804-435-1701, extension 16.