Saturday, April 20, 2024
64.3 F

Chesapeake Academy graduates the Class of 2019

Chesapeake Academy’s Class of 2019 from left are (front row) Calista Nelson, Callie Souders, Ryleigh Hornsmith and Claire Beitel; (next row) Spencer Cammarata, Andrew Fulmer, Landon Reihs, Joness LaSalle-Bryant, Jarett Platsis and Stewart Hollingsworth.

Chesapeake Academy on June 4 held commencement exercises for the Class of 2019. After an invocation by 2018-19 student council president Calista Nelson, head of school Julianne T. Duvall welcomed the school community and conferred the head of school list certificates for the year.

Kathryn K. Vose, chairman of the board of trustees, presented the Norma Jean Edwards Volunteer Award to Christina Cammarata. This award, established in 2004, was named for school volunteer Norma Jean Edwards, and recognizes the parent volunteers who have worked tirelessly without hesitation, without reward, always putting the good of the academy and children first.

Reagan Harding, the daughter of Nicole and Richard Harding, received the C. Jackson Simmons Award. The C. Jackson Simmons Award for Excellence in History and English was established in 1999 in memory of one of Chesapeake Academy’s founders, attorney C. Jackson Simmons.

The Pamela I. Herrell and the J.E. Bouis Athletic Awards are given to a girl and boy, respectively, for outstanding athletic achievement. Recipients were Calista Nelson, the daughter of Farida and Bernard Nelson, and Stewart Hart Hollingsworth, the son of alumni Phoebe Rittenhouse Hollingsworth and Mark Hollingsworth.

The Tidewater Foundation Scholarship is given to a returning student…

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

overcast clouds
64.3 ° F
70 °
62.4 °
70 %
100 %
62 °
59 °
66 °
71 °
53 °