Saturday, April 20, 2024
53.2 F

Deadline to file for May 1 town elections is Tuesday, March 6

by Audrey Thomasson

LANCASTER—On May 1, voters in Kilmarnock, Irvington and White Stone will go to the polls. The deadline to file to run for council in the county’s three incorporated towns is 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 6.

In Kilmarnock, the position of mayor and three council seats are up for grabs. The position of mayor is currently held by Mae Umphlett. The council seats up for reelection are currently held by Emerson Gravatt, Curtis Smith and Betsy Crowther.

In Irvington, three council positions will be on the ballot. They are currently held by Jerry Latel, Wayne Nunnally and Michael Merrill.

In White Stone, the position of mayor and three council seats will turn over. The mayor’s seat is held by Randy Reeves Sr. The three council seats on the ballot are currently held by Irving Brittingham, Kelli Blankenship and Randy S. Reeves Jr.

Residents of the towns may apply by filing out  Declaration of Candidacy and Candidate Qualification forms. File with the voter registrar, Susan Jett, in the lower level of the County Administration Building, 8311 Mary Ball Road. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Contact Jett at 462-5277 for more information.

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

overcast clouds
53.2 ° F
53.8 °
51.8 °
91 %
100 %
62 °
56 °
60 °
64 °
65 °