Downing, Cockrell and Finnell share teacher of the year honors in Northumberland; school board reviews courses and summer programs

AnnGardner Eubank

by AnnGardner Eubank

CLARAVILLE—During a Monday, April 11, school board meeting, superintendent Holly Wargo congratulated Northumberland’s 2022 teachers of the year, Christine Downing of the elementary school, Heather Cockrell of the middle school and Nathan Finnell of the high school.

Each recipient was recognized by their school principals and presented gifts from school board chairman Betty Christopher. 

Educational technology department director Javornda Ashton reported on the launch of the new school website. 

“I’m excited that we’ve cleaned everything up and that everything is nice and bright,” Ashton said. According to Ashton, the new site, with more user-friendly features, launched during the last week of March. 

In other news, director of instruction Adam Letizia reported next school year’s programs of….

There’s more to this story,
and many more news articles, photos and ads available only in our online e-Edition or in the printed version. Become a subscriber today!
• To access or subscribe to the e-Edition, go -   HERE
• To subscribe to the printed version, go -   HERE
• To buy the printed version at a newsstand, -   HERE are our locations.

For assistance, please call us at 804-435-1701, extension 16.