Saturday, April 13, 2024
57.8 F

ELECTION 2019: November ballot decided

by Jackie Nunnery

According to unofficial filing results, the November 5 ballot will offer few surprises, barring write-in campaigns. With several incumbents seeking reelection, voters will see many familiar names on the ballot.

At the state level, incumbent Republican Sen. Ryan McDougle will seek another term in Senate District 4. Democratic Stan Scott also will be on the ballot. Incumbent Republican Del. Margaret Ransone is seeking reelection in House District 99. Democrat Francis Edwards also will be on the ballot.

In Northumberland County, according to voter registrar Kathy Davenport, Commonwealth’s Attorney Jane Blackwell Wrightson, Commissioner of the Revenue Todd Thomas and Treasurer Ellen Booker Kirby are all seeking reelection, unopposed. Johnny Beauchamp and Peyton Waller are both running for Sheriff in light of current Northumberland County Sheriff James “Doc” Lyons’ retirement.

For board of supervisors, District 1 incumbent Joe Self faces opposition from James Brann. In District 4, incumbent Thomas Tomlin faces opposition from A.C. “Junior” Fisher. In District 5, Ronnie Jett is seeking reelection, unopposed.

For school board, the incumbents in Districts 1, 4 and 5, Dana Deihl O’Bier, Betty Christopher and Gayle Sterrett, respectively, are all seeking another term, unopposed.

Robert Vanlandingham and Robert Pickett are each unopposed for another term on the Northern Neck Soil and Water Conservation District board.

In Lancaster, according to voter registrar Susan Jett, Commissioner of the Revenue Marlon Savoy and Treasurer Bonnie Dickson are both seeking reelection, unopposed.

Commonwealth’s Attorney Jan Smith is seeking reelection. He faces opposition from Margaret “Maggie” Ransone and Anthony “Tony” Spencer.

Sheriff Patrick McCranie is seeking reelection. He faces opposition from Melvin Howard.

For board of supervisors, the incumbents in Districts 2, 3 and 4, Ernest Palin Jr., Jason Bellows and William Lee, respectively, are all seeking another term, unopposed.

For school board, District 2 incumbent Kenya Moody is seeking reelection. She faces opposition from Sandra Dee Zeiler. In District 3, Michael Schoelwer and Cindy Booth Clarke are both running for the seat being vacated by school board chairman Audrey Thomason. In District 4, Joan Gravatt is seeking reelection, unopposed.

No candidates have filed for the two seats on Northern Neck Soil and Water Conservation District board.

The list of candidates for the November 5 general election will be posted at the Virginia Department of Elections website after the State Board of Elections certifies the primary election on June 24.

Meanwhile, in the Town of White Stone, two seats on the town council are up for election. Related special elections will be held on November 5. Catherine Roop, who was appointed to fill a seat vacated by council member Drew Hubbard in November 2018, has declared her candidacy. She is running unopposed.

Jamilah Sawyer was appointed to fill a seat vacated by Paul Elborn in January. She has declared her candidacy and is currently running unopposed. However, the deadline for filing for that seat is not until August 16. Those interested in running should contact the registrar’s office in the County Administration Building, 8311 Mary Ball Road, Lancaster, or phone 432-5277.

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

clear sky
57.8 ° F
58.8 °
56.8 °
54 %
0 %
64 °
75 °
77 °
68 °
58 °