Thursday, May 30, 2024
61.3 F

Northumberland County ballot set for November elections

by Jackie Nunnery

When Northumberland County voters head to the polls on November 5, they will see many familiar names on the ballot.

At the state level, incumbent Republican Sen. Ryan McDougle will seek another term in Senate District 4. His Democratic challenger is Stan Scott.

Incumbent Republican Del. Margaret Ransone is seeking reelection in House District 99. Her opponent is Democrat Francis Edwards.

At the local level, Northumberland County General Registrar Karen Davenport confirmed the following names for the upcoming election:

Current Northumberland County Commonwealth’s Attorney Jane Blackwell Wrightson is seeking another term. She is running unopposed.

Incumbent Commissioner of the Revenue Todd Thomas is seeking another term and running unopposed.

County Treasurer Ellen Booker Kirby is running unopposed for another term.

Johnny Beauchamp and Peyton Waller are both running for Sheriff in light of current Northumberland County Sheriff James “Doc” Lyons’ retirement.

For board of supervisors, District 1, incumbent Joe Self will be running against James Brann. In District 4, A.C. “Junior” Fisher is running against incumbent Thomas Tomlin. In District 5, Ronnie Jett is seeking another term and running unopposed.

For school board, the incumbents in Districts 1, 4 and 5, Dana Deihl O’Bier, Betty Christopher and Gayle Sterrett are all seeking another term and running unopposed.

Robert Vanlandingham and Robert Pickett are both seeking another term on the Northern Neck Soil and Water Conservation District board. They are running unopposed.

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

clear sky
61.3 ° F
64.1 °
58.7 °
85 %
0 %
73 °
71 °
77 °
81 °
78 °