Thursday, June 20, 2024
82.9 F

Election Day is Tuesday

by Robert Mason Jr.

KILMARNOCK—Tuesday, November 2, is Election Day. Polls will open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Elections will be held for statewide offices and several local offices.

Meanwhile, Lancaster County general registrar Susan Jett indicated Saturday, October 30, is the last day for early in-person voting. Early voting actually started September 17 and Jett said in-person early voting traffic has picked up considerably this week.

The Lancaster County Voter Registration Office in the County Administration Building, 8311 Mary Ball Road, Lancaster, is open from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays, as well as this Saturday.

The Northumberland County Voter Registration Office in the James R. Hundley, DVM Memorial Building, 45 Back Street, Heathsville, is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Mondays through Fridays, as well as this Saturday.

Jett also reminds voters to bring proper identification (ID) with them to the registrar’s office for early voting and to the polls for casting a ballot on Election Day.

Acceptable IDs include Virginia driver’s license, valid DMV-issued ID, valid employee ID with photograph, U.S. Military ID, valid student ID, valid U.S. passport, government issued ID, voter ID from Department of Elections, voter confirmation documents, tribal ID, nursing home ID, current utility bill, government check or paycheck containing name and address of voter, any current document containing the name and address of the voter.

Northumberland County Electoral Board secretary Joe Schlatter indicated they have had quite a few early voters as well. He reminds Northumberland County voters in Districts 2 and 3 to turn the ballot over to find the names of candidates seeking election to the board of supervisors and school board.

Polling places

In Lancaster County, polling places are: District 1, Upper Lancaster Volunteer Fire Department, 5170 Mary Ball Road, Lively; District 2, Trinity Episcopal Church, 8484 Mary Ball Road, Lancaster; District 301, White Stone Baptist Church, 517 Chesapeake Drive, White Stone; District 302, Kilmarnock Baptist Church, 65 East Church Street, Kilmarnock; District 4, Grace Episcopal Church, 303 South Main Street, Kilmarnock; and District 5, Irvington Baptist Church, 53 King Carter Drive, Irvington.

In Northumberland County, polling places are: District 1, Callao Volunteer Fire Department, 314 Northumberland Highway Callao; District 2, St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, 6807 Northumberland Highway, Heathsville; District 3, Fairfields United Methodist Church, 14714 Northumberland Highway, Burgess; District 4, Wicomico Parish Church, 5191 Jessie duPont Memorial Highway, Wicomico Church; and District 5, Fairfields Volunteer Fire Department, 119 Main Street, Reedville.

State races

Statewide, elections will be held for governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general and House of Delegates.

Candidates on the ballot for governor include Democrat Terry R. McAuliffe of Alexandria, Republican Glenn A. Youngkin of Merrifield and Liberation candidate Princess L. Blanding of Shacklefords.

Candidates for lieutenant governor include Democrat Hala S. Ayala of Woodbridge and Republican Winsome E. Sears of Winchester.

Candidates for attorney general include incumbent Democrat Mark R. Herring of Alexandria and Republican Jason S. Miyares of Virginia Beach.

Candidates for House of Delegates in District 99 include Democrat Linwood T. Blizzard II of Heathsville and incumbent Republican Margaret Bevans Ransone of Kinsale.

Local seats

In Lancaster County, supervisor and school board seats in Districts 1 and 5 are up for election.

Candidates on the ballot for board of supervisors include Craig H. Giese in District 1 and William C. Smith in District 5.

Candidates on the ballot for school board include C. Faith Kemp and Carl E. Failmezger in District 1 and Margaret E. Socey in District 5. However, Failmezger has withdrawn.

In the Town of Irvington, special elections also will be held for mayor and a seat on town council. Candidates on the ballot include Gabe G. del Rio III and Julie W. Harris for mayor and J. Chris Braly for council.

However, Braly has withdrawn from the election. At least two candidates are seeking write in votes, Betsy Delph and Judy Penniman.

In the Town of White Stone, a special election will be held for a town council seat; James E. “Jimmy” Smith is the only candidate on the ballot.

In Northumberland County, seats in Districts 2 and 3 are up for election.

Candidates on the ballot for board of supervisors include incumbents Richard F. Haynie in District 2 and James M. Long in District 3.

Candidates for the school board include Cheryl Brown Davis and incumbent Carl L. Perez in District 2 and incumbent E. Denise Pope Mazyck in District 3.

Rappahannock Record Staff
Rappahannock Record Staff
From the Rappahannock Record news team

Follow us on Social Media

Your Local Weather

clear sky
82.9 ° F
88 °
79.7 °
61 %
0 %
88 °
94 °
98 °
89 °
79 °